I’d like to interview Superintendent Rob Hess

As part of Superintendent Hess’ transition into the Lebanon Community School District, he’s offered up something like 100 meetings for community members and others on a first-come, first-scheduled basis.  Each meeting, as I understand it, is 30 minutes in length, and it’s his way of getting to know the community.  It’s a good idea.  I signed up for one, for early next week.  If you know me you can probably guess what I want to talk about:  Blogs!  And the internets!  And stuff!

But I want to do something else, too, if Hess is willing:  I’d like to offer him an interview, with the un- or minimally-edited results to be posted on this blog.  And not a short, on-the-spot interview, either; a longer, in-depth interview, one that’s pre-arranged, and that I can record and transcribe.  Not only that, but if he’s amenable, I’d like to solicit questions and topics for the interview from the five people who still read this blog – to crowdsource the questions, if you will.  I have some ideas of what I would ask, but I bet there are plenty of topics and issues that you’d like to see addressed by Hess.

So, internets, what do you say?  Should I ask the Super for an interview?  And if so, what should I ask him?  Leave your answers in the comments.

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Tags:

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

10 Comments on “I’d like to interview Superintendent Rob Hess”

  1. Susan Says:

    I think it would be great.

    I read and enjoy your blog, all of the posts, not just concerning LCSD.

    Even though I may not comment…I am reading.

  2. Dennis Says:

    I was being a bit facetious – as near I can tell, I get about 100 pageviews a day. Not that great (in April it was 400), but not that bad, either. I just need to check the number of unique visitors….

    You have any questions for Hess?

  3. Susan Says:

    Though it was never something I had thought about before, the past year has proven that it is something we should all think about:

    Does he think that grievances should bypass him and go directly to the board?

    I may have worded that completely wrong, and hopefully you understand what I am saying and word it appropriately.

  4. Dennis Says:

    Susan, I think I know what you mean, but if you want to clarify further, you can always email me at rhetoricalwasteland@gmail.com.

  5. Connie Says:

    Even though Mr. Hess touched on The Beyond LHS program and AP classes in the LE, I’d like to hear about his plans for both in greater depth.

  6. Roxy Says:

    Sansom, and the rationale for not moving him. He said you don’t fix problems by moving them, does that mean that Sansom is a problem or the middle school in general, or both? How does he plan to “fix” this problem?

  7. anon Says:

    Since he has only heard from 80 people who want to speak with him per the DH, maybe it would be even better for each of your readers to just schedule a session with him. that’s what I did. Nothing about your reporting, seriously, but there are so many people with opinions about the school district, it seems, yet only 80 have made time in their schedule for a 1/2hr personal appt. with the superintendent???

    Come on folks! Now is the time to voice your concerns and ask your questions!!

  8. Anon Says:

    Hess has quoted and spoken about his book often since hired. So Does Hess want to make the district fit his book? Robinson tried that route and we all know the results.

    Is he planning on any more changes to the moves Lanning made before leaving. He already has changed course and decided to not to move Ed Samson. He stated in the paper that one administrator only running Seven Oak is to much for one person, how does he plan to address this?

    The district spent thirty thousand or so in having a private investigator interview the staff at LHS. The paper stated that the focus of the investigation was the blogs. What came of this? Was a large amount of money spent and staff time taken up, to no end? This took place prior to Hess, but does he plan on continuing to pursue this, or just let it go for now.

    Thoughts,ideas, plans on fixing, repairing the reputation of the district, specifically Lebanon High School? Overall the high school has had no consistency for quite sometime in a number of areas. What does he plan to do to fix this?

    Having already spent time in the district and being on the campuses of the district. Can Hess please restate his vision for the district and what specific steps he plan to take to get to where he wants the district to be? It is early yet, but he should have something.

  9. Mike Says:

    I was interviewee 71. My objective was encourage Superintendent Hess to stress to the board the importance of improving parents’ involvement in and responsibility for their children’s education. I’m not so much concerned with the types of programs offered as I am with the motivation the parents and the kids have to succeed.

    I will also be watching how the unions respond to Dr. Hess. Will his approach be less adversarial than that of his predecessor? If so, will the union leadership perceive it as weakness and immediately go for the jugular? Or will we have an extended period of calm and actions by all parties that truly benefit the students?

  10. anon Says:

    Hess has SUCH a different way of dealing with people than Robinson….I think we are selling him short when we note any similarities — yes, they are both religious white men who wrote a book — beyond that I think we are looking at blueberries vs. watermelons. Let’s give the man a chance. He and Robinson have very different personalities.


Leave a Reply

