The 4th

It strikes me that one of the mental dividers I use is whether someone celebrates the 4th of July qua 4th or not.

Dividing what?

Whether one’s politics are radical or not, of course.

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

4 Comments on “The 4th”

  1. Jen Says:

    This I find particularly funny, because I’m always meaning to go see a fireworks show on the 4th (including today), but some how always end up not going for one reason or another. Do I like the holiday itself? No, not really, though I think it has a lot more to do with not wanting to be lumped in with a bunch flag-waving freaks than not. I find Independence Day to be a perfectly acceptable reason to celebrate, but am totally turned off by the way most people celebrate it. Do I like pretty fire in the sky? Hells yeah. Also, picnics and BBQs rock my socks. Sigh. I just want my own personal $500,000 fireworks show, complete with all-vegetarian picnic-Q. Please.

  2. Dennis Says:

    Jen…. Amen =)

  3. Jen Says:

    Dave and I bussed our way about town and had a picnic with a great view of the Space Needle, and are going to go see a movie in a bit. I guess that’ll be our celebration.

  4. herestheproblem Says:

    No matter my level of pride in America, I’m always up for a good 4th celebration. But I also really like St. Patty’s Day and Cinco De Mayo… Maybe it’s just a love for national encouraged drinking.


Leave a Reply

