[LCSD] A thought experiment about LT

Let us assume, for a minute, that LT is indeed the pseudonym of a Lebanon Community School District employee of some kind.

Let us further assume LT loses their job as a result of the current investigation.

Further, let us assume – perhaps – that LT has trouble finding a new job, whether it be because of the economy or because there will be people badmouthing LT any chance they get.

What, then, do you think LT will do?  Personally, I’m wondering if LT will have allllll kinds of free time to blog that they did not have before… and a giant chip on their shoulder.

I’m not advocating for or against this, mind you.  I’m just – as I have a tendency to do – wondering out loud about one possible future.  This happens to be one in which whoever is driving the investigation might not be thinking about the consequences that clearly.

Actually, I sort of consider this another piece of evidence that the best solution to this situation probably doesn’t involve going after the blogger in a hostile manner, but that’s just me.

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Tags:

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

11 Comments on “[LCSD] A thought experiment about LT”

  1. Anonymous Says:

    You sure are spending a lot of time worrying about the blogger being outed. Perhaps you are worried she will be linked back to you.

  2. Dennis Says:

    Linked? In what way?

    I’ve corresponded via email with LT, for sure, and mostly about technical stuff. And I used to use a pseudonym. And I am concerned about protecting anonymous blogging in general.

    So yeah, I have plenty of “links” to LT. I fail to see why any of them would be a problem or what you are insinuating. Care to make it clearer?

  3. Susan Says:

    I have asked, but never been informed concerning the “cyberbullying”. Nothing is printed in the newspaper about what was said, and I am afraid I am “blog illiterate” when it comes to finding it in the massive blog of the “LT” sight. I would love to have someone direct me to the exact concerns of both the teacher involved and the student(s).

  4. Dennis Says:

    Anon whose commented I just deleted – like that is going to get published. Surely you were joking.

  5. Susan Says:

    Never mind….I found it.

  6. Dennis Says:

    And what do you think?

  7. Susan Says:

    As I’ve stated. Unless you are given the floor, do not speak. I have taken one of my children to a board meeting for his/her class, and explained what is proper. The board chair had a responsibility that was ignored and therefore unexcusable. I do not care if it is a “child” or an adult acting like a child.

    If I am to assume that what I have read is correct, and mind you, I am going on what I have read in a blog only, the students involved and some parents were rude and inappropriate. I do not believe in calling people names, especially children, but I do believe in standing up and telling them their actions are intolerable.

    I think a bigger issue than “cyberbullying” occurred and it was not on the part of any blogger.

    If children are not taught respect, then you DO look at who failed them.

    There was no cyberbullying in addressing the actions of those teens…..sorry.

  8. Anonymous Says:

    How can everone elses name be printed on these blogs which are half-truths and the sources never checked, yet one person puts the name of the person that we know as a fact is the blogger and you won’t print it.
    Interesting?

  9. Dennis Says:

    1. Because “everyone” does not “know in fact” the name of the blogger. Obviously.

    2. Because it’s my blog and I made a decision a long time ago not to publish comments that tried to out anonymous bloggers. That included IE as well as LT, and would have held for anyone else who wanted to blog anonymously about Lebanon.

    3. Because “these blogs” are at least two different things – care to point out the “half-truths” I have claimed are truths or any other falsehoods? Also, I don’t have anything to do with what gets published in placed in the comments on LT. Lumping the two of us together is sloppy at best and disingenuous at worst.

  10. LT Says:

    I think that the fact Dennis KNOWS the name of IE and never published it any manner indicates that Dennis is firmly committeed to the idea of anonymous blogging. We know that Dennis found out the name of IE through email correspondence because he told us so (through our own correspondence) and, although he disagreed with a number of things said by IE and, by the end of the IE blog, IE had gotten pretty darn hostile to Dennis, Dennis never outted IE. That indicates a firm committment to the principal of the matter, something we respect deeply.

  11. Dennis Says:

    I wasn’t going to bring that up, but what LT says is true…. and now we find out if IE is still reading this blog.


Leave a Reply

