[LCSD] General Update

1.  Yes, it’s true:  With any luck, I’ll be liveblogging tomorrow’s board meeting.

Scratch that.  With a not-insignificant amount of luck, because I’m feeling sick today.  If it gets hold, I might stay home tomorrow evening.

2.  I’ve heard a bit more about the rumor regarding Mary Bowman’s appearance at the high school since I blegged about it over a week ago.  It seems that Bowman has allegedly been told if she comes back to the LHS campus, she may be asked to leave with the option of having the police called.  I wonder what in the world she did to deserve that?  And when is someone going to report on it?  Some of us have other jobs!

3.  Tre’ Kennedy is blogging.  Not only do I like it, but it’s the kind of approach I probably should have taken in the first place (well, in regards to posts that deal strictly with issues; I differ with Mr. Kennedy regarding anonymous comments, and I like to talk about process and rhetoric in addition to policy).  I even left a non-anonymous comment on a post!

4.  It appears that according to the minutes, at each of the last two board meetings the board has gone into executive session, only to come out and find merit with a complaint and ask that the Superintendent take appropriate action.  I wonder what the complaints are about…

5.  Anything exciting expected at tomorrow’s board meeting?  Agenda is here.

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

7 Comments on “[LCSD] General Update”

  1. Anonymous Says:

    Classified contract… Is that exciting?

  2. Dennis Says:

    Yes! I knew I was forgetting something. I wonder how the final contract turned out. My guess is that the economic situation basically forced LACE to give in.

    If anyone out there has a copy of the TA, I’d love to see it.

  3. LT Says:

    Dennis, Regarding your comment about a hybrid schedule. That is really the current adminstration’s position — they want to block project classes, like construction, cooking, science, agriculture. Students would have difficulty building them into their schedule in the early years, but as they finish their required classes more and more electives could be blocked.

    As you note, there is no ideal schedule. The priority being pushed by the high school administration is core language arts and math. The current freshmen are required by state law to pass the reading, writing, and math tests in order to receive a diploma. If nothing is done, about one-half of our freshmen will not graduate.

    To us, it appears that the administration is being responsive to the math parents and, from what we heard, the parents who attended the meeting Thursday night were in agreement with the year-round core classes.

  4. Anonymous Says:

    More than likely it was the yellow highligted note at the top of the last offer.. go to the district website, classified negotiations and the offer dated 2-12 to see what I am talking about.

  5. Dennis Says:

    Anon @ 5:39, I agree that the economic forecast was probably a deciding factor. But I still want to see the document =)

  6. Anonymous Says:

    Most of the classified staff have it.

  7. Dennis Says:

    And if one of the classified staff were to find themselves emailing it to rhetoricalwasteland (at) gmail (dot) com, I would not mind.


Leave a Reply

