Profgrrrrl on teaching

I found this post while cleaning up my del.icio.us site.  It’s not that old – from 2008 – but I hadn’t thought about it in some time.  It’s frackin’ awesome:

Why I Teach:

If I had to put it in a sentence, I’d say –> I teach to break down the barriers between research and everyday life.

I have an endless sense of curiosity about people and the world and I like to share it with others. What I share with students isn’t necessarily the content — I’m not a walking lecture, a trove of trivia, or anything like that. I am an observer, a reflector, a processor. I share with my students a way of thinking, a position for viewing the world, a toolbox that will help them investigate whatever happens around them. At some level, my focus is always how to take theory and connect it to some human behavior/practice/social structure via research. This is my mission, whether starting with the theory and (dis)proving it via research on a human practice or starting with a human practice and connecting the phenomenon to an empirically proven theory.

Go read the rest.  That’s the kind of teaching I’d aspire to were I to enter the field.

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Tags: , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

