I hate pissing contests

If Barack Obama has to demonstrate his bipartisanship by appointing Republicans to cabinet-level and other positions, wouldn’t the same apply to GWB?

Tell me – how many liberal Democrats did Bush appoint?  Anyone?  As far as I can tell, the answer is zero.

Why am I posting this?  Because the whole “if Obama doesn’t appoint a bunch of Republicans then he’s a dirty liar” bit is a stupid talking point that was generated in the wake of the election just to weaken Obama.

Prompted by this.

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

4 Comments on “I hate pissing contests”

  1. Russ Says:

    I think the same things were said to GWB, and he probably put in a token few low level people, and the call for democrats went away. I think the same is true of Obama, put in the people you want, hopefully the best, and the calls for more republicans in the mix will end. I wonder more if he is putting to many Clintonistas into positions that may come back and bite him. I have never seen the Clintons NOT do what was best for the Clintons!!

  2. Dennis Says:

    Russ,

    Aren’t you conflating Clintonistas with the actual Clintons?

    Unless, of course, you think the Clintons still somehow control everyone who worked for them between 1992-2000. Personally, I don’t think that’s the case.

  3. Russ Says:

    True, but he seems to be doing both. Again, best person in the jobs. I am of the opinion that since Obama won, he picks who he wants. To the victor go the spoils (sweet government positions)!

  4. Dennis Says:

    Russ,

    Could those two statements be contradictory? I think it could go both ways.


Leave a Reply

